Let’s Talk Star Wars Rebels Season 4

This past weekend was Star Wars Celebration in Orlando Florida where fans of the Star Wars saga gathered to show their love for Star Wars, go to  panels, cosplay, buy stuff, and even support UNICEF through Her Universe.

Two of the main panels I enjoyed watching were the Star Wars Rebels Season 4 and The Heroines of Star Wars panels. I enjoyed both of them, but today I will talk about Star Wars Rebels and what will be the last season for the show.

First of all, yes I am sad that the show is ending, but I am happy the writers are ending it this time rather than the show had to be cancelled because the franchise was purchased by Disney. What is known so far is that the only characters to make it out of the series alive are Hera, Sabine, Kallus, Rex, and Chopper. The fates of Ezra, Kanen, and Zeb are currently up in the air with no mention of them in Rogue One or the Star Wars Aftermath book trilogy (and in Rex’s case having a minor character seen in Return of the Jedi confirmed as him).

The Following Are Key Points, Theories I have for the Season, and Neat Things I Noticed in the Rebels Season 4 Trailer

First thing’s first I am confident the series will end on a bittersweet note. The first true successful victory of the Rebellion is the end result of A New Hope with the destruction of the Death Star. It is depressing to think about, but bittersweet doesn’t always mean a sad ending, but it won’t be the happiest. I think at worst Kanen and Ezra will both end up dead fighting to free Lothal, only to destroy a weapons factory as a victory at best and the Mandalorian rebellion to not end so spectacularly for Sabine and the Wren clan. The best is that everyone makes it out alive and Mandalor is safe and happy.

Things that I noticed were that Ezra is going to be helping out with Sabine in the Mandalore rebellion, Sabine didn’t change her look between seasons, Bo Katan is back, Hera is in an X Wing, Kallus is now in casual wear, and Thrawn is not happy about being bested by the rebels because Kanen pissed off the right person. Also WOLVES!!!! GIANT WOLVES!

With Hera wearing a flight uniform I think it’s safe to bet that the X wings will be introduced this season. I (like the awesome people at Star Wars Explained) also think that Bo Katan will become the new Mandalor. I think Thrawn and Kanen will die. I don’t think anyone is falling to the dark side any time soon, but there will be scars, but feelings of hope.

I had personally hoped that Star Wars Rebels would have ended with the events of Rogue One through the perspective of the Ghost crew, however considering only about a year has passed at most in the series with two more years until the events of A New Hope I don’t think that will happen. I am hopeful for such a story to happen in the future via comics or novelization.

Finally during the Panel Dave Filoni wore a shirt saying “Ahsoka Lives?” and after the trailer he apparently changed to another shirt with the text “Ahsoka Lives!” However not much was elaborated on the statement. With the inclusion of giant wolves it has been theorized by some that Ahsoka is now a spirit similar to the Son and Daughter and is appearing to Ezra and co via spirit animal. That is a cool theory, but I don’t think it’s so. I think Ahsoka is definitely behind the wolves though and at best she will just pop up in the final scene of the series to take Ezra under her wing as a non-Jedi force user, or to work on some space pony farm. Hopefully the former.

I am excited to see this final season and what will happen in the future of Star Wars on television. I do fully hope that these characters will appear in future material and make it past the events of Return of the Jedi.

Leave a comment